hard to start and slugish

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

89purple horse

Reaction score
the purple horse is a 89 with a efi 351. when its cold it fires up just fine and ready to run. runs pretty good untill it warms up then it seems slugish i dont get no check engine light or anything. could that be egr? gas inlet tube off manifold broke during header swap and have not been able to replace it yet. the other thing is its hard to start when its hot it acts if the battery is weak but its only a month or 2 old. i am leaning towards its in timing some where but i am new at the tfi system can so one help someone help out a lost shade tree mechanic

miesk5

96 Bronco 5.0
Staff member
Reaction score
yo PH!

Welcome to da ZONE!

Have charging & starting sys tested for Free at a local parts store.

I'd do a Self Test for Diagnostic Trouble Codes (DTCs)anyway, such as this by our good friend, BroncoJoe http://broncozone.com/topic/14269-code-reader/page__p__74587entry74587

I run it around to heat the engine up and shift thru all gears incl Reverse.

then; turn off all accesories/lights, etc.

Do KOEO portion first

For Key On Engine Running (KOER) portion, the engine has to be @ normal operating temp.

Posat any codes found here or look em up in my broncolinks.com site.

Check Timing;

Adjustment in Ford EFI Engines

Source: by Ryan M (Fireguy50) at http://fordfuelinjection.com/index.php?p=71

Scroll down to; HOW TO CHECK AND SET TIMING

your SPOUT connector is @ Distr; such as here;

Spark Output (SPOUT) Connector Location pic @ distributor in an 88

Source: by Jem270 at http://www.supermotors.net/registry/media/249442

tfi-spout-connectors.jpg

Of course there are more that could be tested; do that stuff first

GL!

OP
OP
89purple horse

89purple horse

Reaction score