351M

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Red Green Jr

Reaction score
i have 1978 bronco ranger XLT with a 351M. i was hoping to do some tuning up myself but i dont know much about the engine. i was hoping somebody out there could give me a few answers.

what should the compression be?

ideal running temp? (my gauge wont get past cold)

takes a long time to start

tuning tips in general, more power and torque, faster throttle response, etc.

thanks

BroncoJoe19

Reaction score
'Red Green Jr'

I have a fair amount of mechanical knowledge, and I may be able to help you, somewhat (I am not an expert). AS you may know, over the years trucks and engines changed quite a bit. I do not know what changes took place during what years, so for me to help you more I need some information from you.

Please set in your signature file information about your truck so that I and others know some basic information, such as engine size, year, type of fuel delivery system, ie 2barrel, 4 barrel, EFI, IF you know which ignition system you have duraspark etc, or points and condensor. Other things such as tire size and type of transmission are of value also.

You can get to your sig file by going to mycontrols

I think, that before we get to making recommendations regarding modifications to make the engine stronger we should look at fixing what is wrong so that it does not take a long time to start.

Do you know how to give it a tune up?

If not let us know and we can walk you through it.

joe

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
Red Green Jr

Red Green Jr

Reaction score