help with choosing exhaust and intake

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BlueJ7

Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone could tell me what kind of headers and dual exhuast is good for a 74 with a 302, something that sounds nice but not too loud(wife will be very angry >:) ) and what are some good carb setups for the 302. I'm fairly new to modifying carb engines... so if anyone has some advice feel free to let me know. Thanks :)>-

Bully Bob

TOP GUN
Reaction score
Hay Blue,

I took my '72 302 to a local muffler shop & had them install new tubes (& the cheap "flowmaster/turbo" look-a-likes) from the exh. man. back.

The tips exited behind the rear wheels. The whole job installed, for under $200.

It had a nice mellow sound at, & off idle....& didn't rumble in the cab at speed.

Headers...really don't come into play 'til higher RPM. I guess they're all pretty much equal. (some req. a cam change)

Carb/intake swaps can cause hood/air filt. clearance issues....& additional expense.

A clue would be your intentions.....street & mild trails, then leave it stock.

Pit racing, then lift, big tires, big carb., headers/cam, turbo exh.

Rough & tumble rock, then get your wallet out...

OH YAH,.....there's a great article (including "H" pipe) on exhaust in the JULY issue of 4 WHEEL & OFFROAD ....Page 90 thru 95...!

HTH

B

Last edited by a moderator:

Bandit

BANDIT
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone could tell me what kind of headers and dual exhuast is good for a 74 with a 302, something that sounds nice but not too loud(wife will be very angry >:) ) and what are some good carb setups for the 302. I'm fairly new to modifying carb engines... so if anyone has some advice feel free to let me know. Thanks :)>-