shock replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

airborne30g

Reaction score
I am new to the Bronco scene, I have an 89, the shocks on the rear are definitelt the original, i want to replace them with a good pair, it look like you just undo the top and bottom built and it pulls out, how do you replace them, what is a good shock to put back ???????

Seabronc

Reaction score
Well, I'm not a shock manufacturer expert, but I'd say any good heavy duty brand would do. I'm sure others on the forum will have their favorites and will chime in on that.

As far as removing and replacing shocks, you are right on the bolts. Here is the proceedure:

1. Raise the vehicle frame taking the weight off the wheel.

2. Remove the lower attaching nut and bolt and swing the lower end free.

3. Remove the attaching nut from the upper mounting stud and removed the shock absorber.

4. Position the replacement shock absorber with rubber bushing and steel washers on upper mounting bolt.

5. Swing the lower end of the shock absorber into mounting bracket on the axle housing. Install the attaching washers, mounting bolt and self-locking nut. Tighten the nut to 40 - 64 ft. lb. You may have to play with the amount of lift on the frame to get the axle bolt in.

6. Install the self-locking nut on the upper mounting bolt and tighten to 40 - 65 ft. lb.

NOTE: The new shock comes with a wire tied between the two ends. DO NOT cut it untill the bolts have been installed.

Good luck,

:)>-

Last edited by a moderator:

Justshootme84

Rest in Peace Friend! Never forgotten..
Reaction score