What to look for? Need help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

MudCountry86

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am currently going to be getting a 86 Bronco. From what the guy is saying it has a 351 windsor motor in it. I am not positive of the transmission. It has a 4 inch suspension lift and 3 inch body lift by rancho. It has a Holley four barrel. Truck is on 35s. I am new to Broncos and absolutely love them. I do want it to be a mud/trail vehicle and also a legal driver. I've been reading up on gearing ratios. I know it has the Dana TTB front and 9" rear. I've also read on here about alignment issues if not lifted properly. I just need some ideas on what to look for when I get it. Common problems and things I need to invest in first. I appreciate everyone's help and look forward to being apart of a Bronco group. THANKS AGAIN EVERYONE!!

OP
OP
M

MudCountry86

Reaction score
Also am curious if this style has the rear bench seat and if the top comes off? And if it does have the bench seat can I get different seats for it and mount them backwards? Thanks again guys!

Elmo

Reaction score
Yes the top comes off yes it would have a rear bench seat from the factory mounting one in there backwards will not leave any foot room in the back. Chances are that the seat will touch the tail gate and be sitting straight on the floor so no where for feet to be. i tried to put some in mine the only way i could see to do it was to mount ONE bucket seat sideways in the back. wasnt worth the effort for me so i didnt do it. 

miesk5

96 Bronco 5.0
Staff member
Reaction score
yo MUD,

As ELMO advised!

Also

Camper Top Removal w/Tool List in an 86
Source: by Sixlitre (Malcolm H, Eddie Bauer) at http://www.supermotors.net/registry/4970/19630

Lift, one man in an 86
Source: by pantsman at http://www.supermotors.net/vehicles/registry/media/492073