Intro - And A Few Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

WABronc

Reaction score
Howdy!

I recently purchased a 1994 Eddie Bauer Bronco (rather impulsively) as a gift to myself. I've been eyeing them for a while and I pulled the trigger when this one came on the market. It has 141,000 miles, the majority of which were probably driven in California based on the Carfax. Visually it's in really good shape besides some peeling clear coat on the hood and roof which I plan to either "temporary fix" myself at home by sanding / spraying new clear coat or going whole hog and having a shop repaint the hood, roof, and air intake.

Mechanically it seems to be in pretty good shape but I'm no expert. I have already taken it in to the local Ford dealer to get all open recalls fixed. The only things I've noticed is it needs a brake job and sometimes it seems to "jump" a bit when shifting. It's an automatic and I'm not totally sure what that is indicative of. It's not every time but it happens a bit driving in the city, it seems to happen most up-shifting between the lower gears. Should that be ringing alarm bells?

I'd really like for this truck to be my daily driver but I don't want to tear it up and while I don't do a lot of driving, most of the driving I do is <5 mile trips in the city. Does that seem like a bad idea? At the end of the day since I don't do much driving I also don't desperately need a super reliable car either. I could reasonably afford a (cheap) daily driver, but again I'd prefer to just have the bronco.

FBMP6284_LI.jpg

Skitter302

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to Bronco ownership!

Most previous owners don't keep up on the maintenance. And alot of it you can do your self with simple tools, time, and a bit of "know how".