Gear Ratio

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

walkdawg

Reaction score
I am new to the 4wheeling world I have a 89 Bronco with 31" tires. I am about to put on 33" tires. I dont really want to lose my current gas mileage. I here if i change my gear patio it will help is this true? I also was wanting to know just how to tell my current gear ratio.

4xfan78

Reaction score
Not real sure on an 89 but most ford rearends have an ID tag near the pumpkin it will have the axle size,gear ratio,and if its a limited slip or open differential. If you have a gear ratio of 3.50 or close to it you should be ok with 33's. It wont have the launch that you would get wit 4.11 but 3.50 will help get better gas milage, and help it run cooler(engine will turn less RMP).

Justshootme84

Rest in Peace Friend! Never forgotten..
Reaction score
Right, look for a metal ID tag on either axle pumpkin. If you don't know what the numbers mean, just post them and someone will decode them. The 89 Bronco commonly has a 3.55:1 gear ratio ,so going from 31" to 33" tall tires will not make much difference. If you know what the transmission and transfer case are, you can compute the final drive ratio for any size tire. You should have a E4OD tranny and B-W 1356 t-case. Your mileage may even increase with 33"'s, but you may have some minimal power loss. Changing tire height just changes the engine's peak power band, and a gear swap corrects that. It's usually only neeeded when a drastic change is made in tire height, like going from 31''s to 38"'s.

mansquirt86

Reaction score