94 Bronco front brakes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Shade tree

Reaction score
This is my first time doing brakes on a 4x4. I'm going to replace with all new pads and rotors. I got the hub-cap and spring off to find there is a interior piece that requires and specialized tool.

I have look for a repair manual and both do not have the lay out of the 4x4 hub removal.

The tool I go is a bearing locknut socket 6-lug for 3/4 ton vehicles with a Dana 70 series axles. It does not look right. Anyone knows of a good refinance guide to tell me if I have that Dana and the steps to do this project.

Any help would be great full....

Rons beast

Reaction score
Florida..in my mind , sitting on the beach
Welcome

I have done the brakes on my 96 without any special tools.

I am assuming you have the hubs off and have trouble removing the bearing nuts.

They should not be on tight, just snug, so as not to overload the bearings. The first nut should come off with a light tapping on the flats with a long screwdriver. Tapp them counterclockwise. The nut should come loose in less than 1/4 turn. Spin it off. The second is held in with a retainer that will slip off if pulled straight out. Note that the retainer is keyed to hold the second nut in by aligning small pins and holes. Once this retainer is out, you can remove the second nut the same way as the first. The hub/rotor will now slip off. Catch the bearing, don't let it hit the floor.

reassemble in reverse, don't over tighten the nuts.

Good luck, and let us know how it turns out.

miesk5

96 Bronco 5.0
Staff member
Reaction score
yo ST

What Ron cited is for the original auto locking hubs w/ 3 cap screws that do not have as much Wheel Bearing Locknut Torque Settings as compared to the manual locking hubs.