Gauge cluster refurbishing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Fallingdown

Reaction score
*For more information on gauge refurbishment please see my web site classychassisrestoration.com

If your gauges no longer work, if they bounce wildly or you would just like them tuned up and calibrated, I would love to help you out.

I have been refurbishing vintage gauges from various vehicles for over 15 years. I have refurbished hundreds of gauge clusters, everything from classic Broncos, Mustangs, MOPAR, vintage boats and airplanes.

The cost to refurbish a gauge cluster is $50.00 and includes the following:

1. Disassemble the Alt, Temp, fuel and oil gauges to check for function.

2. Clean all internal electrical connections.

3. Repairing any internal damage the gauge may have.

4. Oil the mechanical portion of the Electro Mechanical gauge.

5. Calibrate the needle.

6. Paint the needle with factory florescent orange ultra violet resistant paint.

7. Disassemble the Head unit.

8. Check the magnetic strength of the speedometer magnet and recharge it if necessary.

9. Remove the odometer drum.

10. Clean and oil the odometer drum.

11. Set the mileage to the desired number.

12. Check and clean the speedometer gears.

13. Apply synthetic grease to all internal gears.

14. Paint the speedometer needle with factory florescent orange ultra violet resistant paint.

15. Reset the odometer to the numbers of your choice.

16. Paint internal bezel the color of your choice.

17. Paint the exterior bezel the color of your choice.

18. Use silicone conditioner on the gasket between external bezel and the glass.

19. Replace broken glass if necessary.