A/C info wanted

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

BOB MARLIN

Reaction score
1990 5.0

Trying to get the a/c working. 42ish psi on the low. 50 psi at idle on the high. It will go no higher than 80psi or so with the increase in RPM.
Plus the compressor makes a "air escaping" sound. I think I just want to replace the whole A/C system rather than fix an outdated 30 year old system.
Started looking online at parts and the pricing is all over the place. Does someone make a complete replacement kit for the Bronco ?. I haven't seen anything with all the components yet. Is there a preferred brand or one to stay away from ?. I know just enough about A/C to be dangerous. I am not an expert so any input would be appreciated.

Tiha

Staff member
Reaction score
Can't help you with updated parts. I have always used and converted what was there with decent luck.

Was it converted to R134 already?

First of course find your leak. Replacement compressors ****. I usually go to a pick and pull, try to find an oem. Or at least a system with some pressure still in it.
Get a new orifice tube, and drier.
Now flush the system. I use something like lacquer thinner. Good degreaser and dries fast and clean so no residue. Pour it in the hose, push it through with low pressure using a **** gun. The other end will bring out all kinds of nasty oil and dye.
**** through until dry.

Re assemble, pull vacuum. add oil, Charge.

Now important part in conversions. The cycling/low pressure cutout switch is adjustable. Unplug the connector to expose the adjustment *****. Turn counter clockwise half a turn.
It lowers the pressures in the system. Helps it work better and everything last longer.
If you have a set of gauges you want the lower pressure cutout set at about 10psi.