Which lift?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bpatrick

Reaction score
Ok, I want/need to lift my bronco... the po put spacers in the springs so that 35s would fit, and i want to do it right before i take her off-roadin'. I was thinking bout a 4inch lift.... but I dunno which would be better, suspension or body lift? size... 2.5",4",6"? and also once i get up so high... what do i need to replace,lengthen? I know it's alot, but I'm new to the truck game.

Broncobill78

Reaction score
Lots & lots of variables there my man. To run 35's you'll want either a 4" or 6" kit depending on how you plan to use the truck. If you do a lot of rock-climbing and flex the suspension a lot then you'll want 6", otherwise a lot of guys get away with 4" for road use & trail riding. Regardless of which way you go a suspension lift is almost always better than a body lift. The body lift will *cost* less up front but it involves a LOT of work on the back end. Once the body has been lifted off the fram you'll need to change or adapt the fuel filler hose, brake lines, transmission shifter linkage, transfer case linkage (if it's a manual) the throttle likage, the fan shroud and you'll have to go thru thr truck front to back looking over *all* of the electrical connections and seeing if there's any strained wiring anywhere. They're cheap to buy but a LOT of work to install and when you're done all you've done is raised the body, you haven't gained a millimeter of suspension travel or off-road capacity. A suspension lift is more expensive up-front but once installed it's installed and with the exception of longer brake lines you don't have all the same nickle-n-dime issues that body lifts have. You're generally cool with all your stock parts until you begin to exceed 6" of suspension lift and then you start needing to consider longer driveshafts.

OP
OP
B