Gas Leak - 1972 Bronco

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SamOfPhila

Reaction score
Hi All. I just received a 1972 Bronco as a birthday gift. I have admired them for a while. It seems to be in pretty good shape but certainly not perfect. I am new to auto work.

Yesterday I took it to the gas station to fill the tank. I brought it home and parked it...and when I came back out maybe 90 min later there was a puddle of gas from a leak. On investigation it appears that there are 5 points of connection to the tank. The fifth point is connected with a small (in diameter) hose coming off of the gas tank that leads nowhere. It appears that the hose had a clamp on it at one point. But at the moment it is an open end which is discharging gas.

Questions:

1) What is the purpose of this hose?
2) What was it connected to? Is there meant to be a breather vent or something connected to it?
3) What is a solution to prevent gas from leaking out of this hose?

Any other feedback is welcome.

IMG_5507.jpg

F1Jim64

Reaction score
Hi All. I just received a 1972 Bronco as a birthday gift. I have admired them for a while. It seems to be in pretty good shape but certainly not perfect. I am new to auto work.

Yesterday I took it to the gas station to fill the tank. I brought it home and parked it...and when I came back out maybe 90 min later there was a puddle of gas from a leak. On investigation it appears that there are 5 points of connection to the tank. The fifth point is connected with a small (in diameter) hose coming off of the gas tank that leads nowhere. It appears that the hose had a clamp on it at one point. But at the moment it is an open end which is discharging gas.

Questions:

1) What is the purpose of this hose?
2) What was it connected to? Is there meant to be a breather vent or something connected to it?