electric choke

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hughd

Reaction score
Hey. I just switched to electrical choke on my 67 with a 289. Not much to hook up to for power. Any pointers would be helpful. Coil is going to radio fuse and vacuum operated wipers. Thanks, hugh

Tiha

Staff member
Reaction score
You just want something that has power with the truck on. I think + side of ignition coil is usually where I ran them.

OP
OP
H

hughd

Reaction score
I purchased a new holley with electric choke and the manual says do not hook up to positive coil side because that takes too much power from the spark plugs. sorry to be a pain. i am new to this stuff.

Tiha

Staff member
Reaction score
On the old broncos, does the starter solenoid on the fender have 4 posts? 2 little studs? Can't remember but I was thinking one of them is hot when the key is on. You could go there.

johnnyreb

Reaction score
Their might be a wire coming off the switch to under the hood near the firewall. If their is any--have someone turn the switch on and check the wire for power.When the switch is turned on.. If not.You could run a wire off the switch,but I,d have a fuse between it for safety--to keep from burning up any wires. Which comes to my mind. I think I ,ll go check on one of the small body ones this week.

johnnyreb

Reaction score
Hey. I just switched to electrical choke on my 67 with a 289. Not much to hook up to for power. Any pointers would be helpful. Coil is going to radio fuse and vacuum operated wipers. Thanks, hugh