Old newbie

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

L\Bronco

Reaction score
Hi all, I just found this site and it looks like a wealth of information and expertise! I was a tech at a Ford dealer for 15+ yrs and an automotive apprenticeship instructor at a tech institute from 99 till now (Don't do the math)
I have owned big broncos since 1980, (I had one baby B (76), and a couple in the 1980 - 86 body) ,but my heart belongs to the 1978-9 body.
I am currently resto-modding a 1979 Ranger XLT. So I'm hoping to find some assistance in here. I am also more than happy to help out any way I can.
Looking forward to my experience in broncozone!
Its got a long way to go, but, here are a few picts!IMG_2156.JPGIMG_2236.JPGIMG_2703.JPGIMG_3634.JPG

Tiha

Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome!

That was a big undertaking there. Nice to see people still have the heart to jump in and do mods this big.

OP
OP
L\Bronco

L\Bronco

Reaction score
Thank you, It's a bit of a job for sure. My goal is a daily driver that will run on pump gas. I have quite a few vintage rides, and the ever increasing volume of ethanol in fuel is making carburetor tuning and maintenance a full time gig!
And FYI, I'm doing the whole build without any major mods to the body, so I can plop the body back on the 79 frame and put the old harness back in any time. (I didn't **** a Bronco for this)
Again, I am looking forward to interacting with other members, it seems like a fantastic group!
Cheers

Tiha

Staff member
Reaction score
and the ever increasing volume of ethanol in fuel is making carburetor tuning and maintenance a full time gig!
Have you ever considered building an engine for ethanol?

Been going through this lately. I am putting back together a 78 vette, ended up having to piece together an engine because the OE block was junk. So sky is the limit now right?