I need a hero

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DirtyDave72

Reaction score
I'm a little out of my element coming here with a 1978 Ford Midas with 351w automatic tranny, 2150 motorcraft carb that started bogging out uphills to the extent of tapping the gas pedal like I'm dancing with the Stars just to keep the engine running. I know! I'll change the sparkplugs. No problem right? Ya right. I'm no king Midas when it comes to cars. That was last October. Got her started once, drove 10 miles and never started since. Ya, it's June 2017. When I took the plug wires off I didn't mark them. When I removed the old distributor to put in an ignitionless distributor I did not mark the base or the rotor or what cylinder the rotor was pointing to. I am self taught several times over in the art of TDC but I'm still not sure I did it right. (There are two timing marks. One looks an 1/8in. Wide x 1/8in. Deep mark painted white. The other is more like drawn on. Thinner and in between the balancer marks on the timing wheel.) This time this is what I've done: I bumped the dist., Till the air blew by. This put the thin line within the balancer marks past the timing marks by an inch. Over. So I slowly brought it around til the other, thicker indented mark came to about 6° before TDC. Then dropped in the distributor with the rotor pointed with my best guess of where the first cylinder was before. Now, it is as if the distributor only seats all the way down every other tooth. Like the oil pump at the bottom is off. But only every other one. I'm thinking maybe I'm supposed to be in one of the other teeth that the oil pump won't fit into. I've tried on each side of where I'm at already, that did fit. And nothing. It seems I'm not getting enough spark. The dist I now have has a built in ignition so I removed the coil and ran the hot lead to the dist. No? If