Advice on ignition upgrades for 1969 302?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

joe bronco

Reaction score
I'm new to the Bronco world bought a EB from an original owner. Wagon style 3 on the tree(that brought back fond memories) 302.

I've solved most of the electrical and fuel problems and trying to decide on ignition upgrades?

The old days taught me alot about points and condenser issues. I want it to be a daily driver with some reliablity?

She is running a little rough so I'm checking plugs and wires, dist. cap etc. Any advice would be great?

Thanks

joe bronco

PS. having a ball turning wrenches again.

Last edited by a moderator:

Bronc76

Reaction score
I'm new to the Bronco world bought a EB from an original owner. Wagon style 3 on the tree(that brought back fond memories) 302.I've solved most of the electrical and fuel problems and trying to decide on ignition upgrades?

The old days taught me alot about points and condenser issues. I want it to be a daily driver with some reliablity?

She is running a little rough so I'm checking plugs and wires, dist. cap etc. Any advice would be great?

Thanks

joe bronco

PS. having a ball turning wrenches again.

jb- try browsing through summit racing, they have distributors or points to electronic ignition conversion kits that you can install if you want some reliability.

Bully Bob

TOP GUN
Reaction score
"...running a little rough so I'm checking plugs and wires, dist. cap etc."

This is what I'd do as well...., as I'd want to know "why" it's runn'n rough, B/4 any parts swapping.

Could be timing chain/timing., vacuum leak., fuel/carb., ...or... worst case., compression.

Elect. ignition doesn't really come into play until high RPM's

OP
OP
J

joe bronco

Reaction score
Thanks to all for the info.